Work experience for visa

Brianm93

Hi everybody. I’m a gas engineer looking to apply for the 189 or 190 visa. Just wondering if these visas require a certain amount of work experience before you can apply for them? 

I’ve been qualified and working for 3 and a half years. 

Also, if any other gas/heating engineers are on here and have moved over recently could you share your experience and thoughts with me please?

cheers

On 12/09/2019 at 02:11, Brianm93 said:

Hi everybody. I’m a gas engineer looking to apply for the 189 or 190 visa. Just wondering if these visas require a certain amount of work experience before you can apply for them? 

I’ve been qualified and working for 3 and a half years. 

Also, if any other gas/heating engineers are on here and have moved over recently could you share your experience and thoughts with me please?

cheers

This is not a straight forward issue as there are a number of things which need to be considered in regards to employment experience:

• Amount required for the skills assessment;
  • Amount required before you are considered "skilled" in you occupation for migration purposes;
  • Amount of "skilled" employment experience which can be claimed for pints purposes;
  • Some States require a certain amount of experience for some occupations.

In most cases you will need employment experience points to get enough points to receive an invite for the 189 or 190.

• Like 1

I’m a gas engineer also, fortunately I have 10 years plus my apprenticeship time. I’m not sure but they deducted a certain amount off for your training. You will most likely have to sit an IELTS English test to boost your points? I’ve got a skills assessment Wednesday! 🤞🏼. Happy to answer any questions, I understand how frustrating it can be.

3 hours ago, Martynd said: