Electrician moving to Oz

It is not possible to get a full licence in the UK - it has to be completed in Australia. Each state has different requirements as well and you can find these online. For example, in Western Australia: https://www.commerce.wa.gov.au/publications/electricians-licence-application-overseas-otsr and other states through the TRA website here: https://www.tradesrecognitionaustralia.gov.au/programs/electrician-general-and-electrician-special-class

I have attached a pdf with general information.

How to obtain a full qualification - Electrical Licensing[72832].pdf

Yes I’m an electrician and moved here about 3 years ago. I’m not sure if you can do a course back in the UK but nonetheless you will still need to log at least 6 months work in Australia before you would be able to apply for a full license. 

Just be aware that you may be able to get help with the funding for the course over here rather than paying more in the UK. I live in SA and a government funded organisation here covered the cost of the whole process 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• 1 month later...
Check out the Down Under Centre in Ealing. They are very friendly and help a lot of electricians move to Australia. Wes, who runs it,  was an electrician from Oz.
https://www.downundercentre.com/
I used the down under centre and agree they were very good with helping.

One thing though Wes was a plumber in Oz and loves to banter with sparks about which trade is better.

Good luck

• 2 weeks later...
On 03/08/2019 at 13:57, Curly said:

Yes I’m an electrician and moved here about 3 years ago. I’m not sure if you can do a course back in the UK but nonetheless you will still need to log at least 6 months work in Australia before you would be able to apply for a full license. 

Just be aware that you may be able to get help with the funding for the course over here rather than paying more in the UK. I live in SA and a government funded organisation here covered the cost of the whole process