Car insurance when visiting the UK?

unzippy

Just found this one - https://www.dayinsure.com (underwritten by Aviva)

They are happy to insure even on the understanding that I'm a not a UK resident.

Top tip - if you still have a valid UK licence, add the number in when asked and a big chunk comes off the price👍

Definitely cheaper than plan b which was a hire car.

Edited by unzippy

We ended up hiring too, much easier.

We hired from Enterprise. Their customer service was great, nice new cars and very reasonable rates.

Some companies though would NOT lend to us because we were not UK residents at the time, so visitors to the UK from other countries will have some problems if they want to hire a car to explore the UK ! 

Your UK license isn’t actually still valid if you are living permanently overseas even if it is in date.  If you try to hire a car in the UK with a UK license, they want to see proof of address like a utility bill.  

Be careful you don’t want to find that the insurance is invalid.

Not a problem at all to hire a car In the UK with an Aus license.  I have done this many times and even hired a van to help my son move on my Aussie license.  Tourists do it all the time.  

• Like 1

16 minutes ago, rammygirl said:

Your UK license isn’t actually still valid if you are living permanently overseas even if it is in date.   Be careful you don’t want to find that the insurance is invalid.

Not a problem at all to hire a car In the UK with an Aus license.  I have done this many times and even hired a van to help my son move on my Aussie license.  Tourists do it all the time.