Raminhbb

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for the Visa 489 in the NSW South Coast and I have a bit concern about job opportunities in this area, I'm a computer programmer and my wife is a fitness trainer. I've checked some websites such as seek.com and indeed.com but I couldn't find a considerable number of related job opportunities.

I really appreciate if anyone lives or work there, explain to me about these topics:

1) Where's the best town in this area in terms of facilities and job opportunities, is it the Nowra or somewhere else?

2) Which sorts of jobs we can find? Is there any chance to find a related job or we have to do casual jobs?

3) which cities are in the area of Visa 489? can I work in the Illawarra or Wollongong?

4) what're the procedures of release letter?

Thanks

17/5000

Software development job in Nowra? I'm sorry, but that's pretty much non-existent. Your next best opportunities will be in Wollongong metro area, but it's a long commute from Nowra.

The condition for 489 means you have to live in regional areas. Unfortunately, the vast majority of software development jobs only exist in the area where you can't live: the Wollongong - Sydney - Newcastle metro area.

Can you find software development jobs in the regional areas? Of course, you can, but it's not going to be easy and you may have to move around. You may get lucky at Byron Bay actually, there are a few IT companies setting up shop up there. But I would try to secure jobs before moving, we don't know how good you are or if your skillset is relevant. This is why the capital cities are the best for people like us (I'm also a software developer).

Another option is to do what I do, I work fully remote. So I can live wherever there is a fast internet connection.

Dear Anolo,

Thanks for your replay ... Yes of course the capital cities are better than these small towns ... I really like to get Visa 190 but unfortunately the Visa condition for 189 or 190 is very tough! Actually we have to 😞