Taxation Help Tax Return

Tony-77

I've recently been contacted by the ATO for expense claims. I've realised I've made a mistake and over claimed on my tax return and can not find many of my receipts. Basically I've very little knowledge of the tax return system here. I'm I likely to receive any type of penalties or fines ?? Any information is much appreciated. Thanks guys!!!! 

Depends how they contacted you.If it was a telephone call then it is almost certainly a scam.

As MaryRose said don' t be scared to call the tax office ,if only to check that it isn't a scam.

Be honest with them, if it is a scam,tell them you want to correct a mistake.They are far more lenient if you are honest rather than they have to find out.

The more tax you pay,the better off you are.You earn $1million a year,the tax office takes $450K roughly.You earn $18200 a year no tax.You earn $100K the tax office takes $25K roughly.

Which position would you rather be in $550K in your pocket,$75K in your pocket,or telling yourself you must be better off if you pay less tax 

5 hours ago, Whey aye said:

Depends how they contacted you.If it was a telephone call then it is almost certainly a scam.

As MaryRose said don' t be scared to call the tax office ,if only to check that it isn't a scam.

Be honest with them, if it is a scam,tell them you want to correct a mistake.They are far more lenient if you are honest rather than they have to find out.

The more tax you pay,the better off you are.You earn $1million a year,the tax office takes $450K roughly.You earn $18200 a year no tax.You earn $100K the tax office takes $25K roughly.

Which position would you rather be in $550K in your pocket,$75K in your pocket,or telling yourself you must be better off if you pay less tax 

The ATO does contact client's by telephone.