Secondary School Teacher Points Limit

Hello everyone,

I saw that Secondary School Teachers are on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List. I am definately planning to apply, but I would reach 65 points maximum. I looked everywhere, but didn´t find where the point limit is published. I have doubts that 65 points are enough to secure me an invitation to apply. Is there a list with the recent point limits online somewhere ?

Or can you tell me from experience what was needed in recent years to secure an invitation ?

Greetings from Germany

• Like 1

You are correct.  65 points is the absolute minimum you need to be eligible, but in practice it's not nearly enough.  People talk about "a queue", but it's not really a queue, it's a competition, and the people with the most points win.  You need to find a way to increase your point score or it's not worth even applying.

Hi @GermanTeacher

I'm also a Secondary Teacher (from Scotland) and have 65 points. I'm planning on also applying for 190 (NSW) for the additional 5 points but think it will still be a struggle to get an invite. I'm hoping the changes in November will make a difference as I am applying as a single applicant so should get an additional 10 points - this may also apply for you?

Hi @scott_glasgow 

I am in exactly  the same boat as you by the looks. Just done PGCE, 26 years old, and I am waiting on the points change in november. I think you get an extra 10 points if you're single or have a partner? 

• 4 weeks later...
On 17/07/2019 at 11:25, Marisawright said:

You are correct.  65 points is the absolute minimum you need to be eligible, but in practice it's not nearly enough.  People talk about "a queue", but it's not really a queue, it's a competition, and the people with the most points win.  You need to find a way to increase your point score or it's not worth even applying.

Hey and thanks for your message !