What is the Construction Industry like to work in (Queensland)?

TOM1989

Hi all,

Myself and my wife are moving to Brisbane on a 189 Visa at the end of September 2019, I currently work as a Senior Quantity Surveyor (Contract Administrator) for a construction firm in London. I'm hoping you could answer a few questions for me surrounding the construction industry in Brisbane;

- Are there any draw backs or differences compared to the UK construction industry that I should watch out for?

- Is it hard to obtain employment as a British Expat with no Australian experience?

- Is there a lot of construction work forecast for the Brisbane area, and does the Brisbane construction industry differ to any other places in Australia ?

- What are the usual working hours, and is there good work/life balance? 

- Does the construction industry generally close down over the Christmas period like it does in the UK, if so what dates? 

All feedback welcome, and I appreciate you all taking the time to read my post!

Cheers

Tom

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I'm sure there must be some people who live in Brisbane who  can tell you what life is like there much better than me. I went to Brisbane for a couple of days in December and there seemed to be plenty of construction of high rise, although I don't know if it's more than in Sydney. You could also spread your net down to the Gold Coast where they always seem to be constructing new towers too. I don't know whether more people commute from the Gold Coast to Brisbane, or vice versa?

With Australia's federal system of government it means that some aspects of life are regulated by the Commonwealth government in Canberra and others by the various state governments and there may be differences from state to state.