some advice pls!

Itraf

a friend has asked me for advice, she and her husband moved to a small very small town in a rural area for his work.

she has struggled to find long term work as it is a holiday destination and casual seasonal work is all she has been able to obtain.

I have not had experience in this situation and wondered if anyone has who can provide some advice.

she is a family friend and we have known each other since childhood so we have always been in touch with our travels and work news. she is an administrator by profession and has always secured good jobs.

at present her (Australian) husband has secured a good job which has allowed them to experience life out of the city.

but with this has come loss of job security and identity for my friend. In addition she has been taken out of her "work comfort zone" by having to do physically hard menial jobs such as cleaning and dish washing jobs. This has not put her off despite developing chronic pain in her arms. What has been the issues she has found challenging are:

a) loneliness. Unable to make friends as the locals have not been friendly. She has tried but it makes it worse trying as they ask her why she has come here and have told her she will not find work. She the spends long hours alone. She keeps fit by long walks and cleaning their house and keeping the garden neat. Preparing her husband's meals and laundering and chores about the house. His work.boss and wife have not made her welcome, she is always polite and friendly but is finding things hard this way.

b) they have no children