Skilled

Lee33

Hi all 

looking for a bit of advice if any can help please. I’m a gas engineer at the minute but have currently worked doing plumbing heating and gas for 18 years now, that’s including my 4 year apprentice. I have a wide variety of experience even done a bit of air conditioning, I was at the same company for 11 years which did a variety of work in hospitals, schools and domestic work. I’m looking to emigrate to Perth and wondering how I go about getting the ball rolling. I.e do I need to do a skills test, English test heard a few things like this but dunno where to start. Thanks any advice would be great full  

50 minutes ago, Lee33 said:

Hi all 

looking for a bit of advice if any can help please. I’m a gas engineer at the minute but have currently worked doing plumbing heating and gas for 18 years now, that’s including my 4 year apprentice. I have a wide variety of experience even done a bit of air conditioning, I was at the same company for 11 years which did a variety of work in hospitals, schools and domestic work. I’m looking to emigrate to Perth and wondering how I go about getting the ball rolling. I.e do I need to do a skills test, English test heard a few things like this but dunno where to start. Thanks any advice would be great full  

Hi Lee, 

I'd start with checking the SOL first to see whether your occupation is on the list. Then, check WA requirements for the immigration, every state has it differently. If you're on the SOL and fulfilling the state requirements, have a look at your points. Are you thinking about 190? You might even be eligible for 189. Skill assessment will probably need to be done, depending on the country where you studied. Same with English test but you will probably do it anyway as every point matters and the more points you're able to gather the better. 

Best of luck! 

I am afraid the above poster is slightly out of date, as the SOL no longer exists.