Help! 189, 190 or 489

Hi all, 

so I am a nurse with 65 points. Tried 189 first but until now haven’t received invitation after submitting EOI last march, I read here that it is very unlikely for me to get invitation with only 65 points. Wanted to try 190 but I don’t have big money on my account and I don’t have job offer as employers are not keen on shortlisting candidates without valid work visa. Anyone of you who has any suggestions please? Greatly appreciated! Thank you

3 hours ago, Nikkigel said:

Hi all, 

so I am a nurse with 65 points. Tried 189 first but until now haven’t received invitation after submitting EOI last march, I read here that it is very unlikely for me to get invitation with only 65 points. Wanted to try 190 but I don’t have big money on my account and I don’t have job offer as employers are not keen on shortlisting candidates without valid work visa. Anyone of you who has any suggestions please? Greatly appreciated! Thank you

Hi Nikkigel, 

Yes it's true, it's almost impossible to get 189 with 65 points at this time. What is your ANZSCO code?

I'd go for 190 if you can. You'd have to have the offer of employment only if you wanted to migrate between the states (eg NSW to VIC). Are you currently living in Australia or overseas? If applying from overseas you mostly don't need the job offer. With the money on your account, it's not that bad, for VIC it was $25k I think and no one has asked for it so far. 

Hope this helps x

3 hours ago, Martina said:

I'd go for 190 if you can. You'd have to have the offer of employment only if you wanted to migrate between the states ....If applying from overseas you mostly don't need the job offer. 

It's true that you MOSTLY don't need a job offer, but some states do.  You need to check the state websites carefully.  

7 hours ago, Nikkigel said:

Hi all, 

so I am a nurse with 65 points... I read here that it is very unlikely for me to get invitation with only 65 points. Wanted to try 190....