Family of 3 how to survive on student visa ?

Neeraja404

Hello everyone, I'm planning to move to Australia to on students visa to do my Masters, trying for Nov '19 intake. I'll be accompanied by my husband and our 2 year old daughter. I have few family friends and relatives in Melbourne so giving that as a priority while choosing university. 

I understand that as a student I'm allowed to work 20 hrs/week and my husband gets full work rights. I'm writing my concerns below and looking forward to your valuable answers and experiences.

1. My husband is an automotive sales consultant, will he be able to get a job in the same industry ? Because few jobs we saw on job portals said they hire only PR or citizens for this role. Is it difficult to get a good job on temporary visas ?

2. To make ends meet, even I have to do part time survival jobs so our only option is to leave our daughter at childcare or playgroups while we both are working. How are the average expenses for playgroups in Melbourne ? Will it be feasible ? Or would you suggest I work in the evenings when my husband is at home to look after our daughter. That way we can save on her childcare.

Please note that I have done some research on the internet but would like to know real experiences of you guys who have already faced these situations. Your replies will be very helpful. TIA

You won’t get any allowance for childcare from the government which makes it expensive and probably not feasible as anything you earn on 20hours a week will go straight to childcare. Most centres or family based daycare you are looking at $80 to $100 a day. 

Jobs can be difficult on temporary visas, if they are saying only citizens or PRs on the portals they must feel pretty strongly about it. Although I have no first hand experience of that area of work.