Which 1st. Visa or nursing registration

Njan

So my husband and I have decided to join our good friends in Cairns. Im a paediatric nurse and he’s works construction. I think things have changed a lot since my friends sister moved out as a midwife 8years ago. 

I am interested to find out which I should do first, apply for visa,  which I believe will be a 189,  or apply for my registration so I can apply for jobs 1st!? 

I’d apply for your Skills Assessment first and foremost with  Amnac,  this is compulsory for your EOI, plus it can take a couple of months. 

Ahpra can also take a while, it took 4mths in my case to get the Registration in Principle and you have to present in person in Australia within 90days to finalise it.

You would be fine doing both simultaneously.

Good luck x

3 hours ago, Njan said:

So my husband and I have decided to join our good friends in Cairns. Im a paediatric nurse and he’s works construction. I think things have changed a lot since my friends sister moved out as a midwife 8years ago. 

I am interested to find out which I should do first, apply for visa,  which I believe will be a 189,  or apply for my registration so I can apply for jobs 1st!? 

Personally, I would go for your AHPRA registration first. This can take a while, and depending on number of schools, where they were located, taught in english, etc. can take a bit to go through.

There is not much point in going further down the process, until you know you are going to get registration, or what is required before you can get it.

Once you have your registration, a modified or modified plus skills assessment from ANMAC does not take too long, and is not too complicated ( i believe it takes longer for a full assessment - than a modified one).

As for husband, should be no problem with him coming along. Might need a recent english test, depending on country of passport, to prove functional english.