Query on 489 visa.

natea21

Hi there. Sorry if this is in the wrong place. I'm just looking for a little advice.

My aim is to emigrate to Australia as I have three brothers and a sister living in Brisbane, all settled and Australian citizens. I visited them in October and came away thinking 'yes this is for me'. Before that I hadn't really thought about it. Unfortunately timing wasn't great as I was struggling to make the points due to experience in my job being only two years. I've just hit three years this month, but now (even more unfortunately) I lose points due to turning 40 years old today.

My initial plan was to wait two years until I have five years work experience and then go for the 189/489 visa options but I have checked the 489 again today and realised that, even with the drop in points from my age, I still have 65 points total.

I am single and a registered nurse. I don't care where in Australia I go as I am looking at the long game of getting to Brisbane at some point. Being in Australia alone will bring me a lot closer to my family than I am at the moment.

My query is, should I attempt to apply for the 489 now with 65 points, or wait two more years and apply with 70? I know they say 65 and above but it seems like those with 65 wait a very long time, if not even time out of the application process.

Any advice anyone can give me would be welcome. Thank you

Claire x

In July all the quotas reset. Some states (South Australia) reduce the points on occupations. It may be that you could get in like that. It's how it happened for me. But you need to be prepared with a skills assessment ready to apply to the state as they can quickly fill up.

11 hours ago, natea21 said:

Thanks Iamngoc!! Am I reading that right? They're not currently taking anyone for the 489 with under 80 points?

Hi natea21, you are referring to 489 Family sponsored pathway, handled directly by DHA, and with very few invitation.