Natasha 19

Morning,

I am currently an ODP in the forces but after 13 years its time to leave, so i have signed off and have the next year to prepare for transition.  From my research i can see that the equivalent is an anaesthetic technician. I am new to this whole process and really don't know where to start? My other half is a floor layer also looking for employment. Has anyone got advice on the routes we should go down? what are the must's? where best to look for employment? visa's ect .........All advice is greatly welcomed. 

thank you

Natasha 

You need to get your visa before you start worrying about employment.  These days, few employers are willing to hire you from overseas.  The great majority of migrants wait until they've arrived in Australia before they start looking for work.

It's a complicated process and it would be worth having a consultation with a migration agent to get your head around it.  Basically, one of you must have skills that are on the list of occupations, then you need to check whether you can get enough points to be eligible to apply.

It is possible to get an employer-sponsored visa, BUT it's just a temporary contract for 2 to 4 years, and then you go home at the end (for some professions, there is a chance that you can stay on and get a permanent visa at the end, but it's far from guaranteed).  

Edited by Marisawright
  • Like 1

Thank you for your reply, all help is much appreciated. Both our jobs are on the skills list and i think i am eligible for a 190 independent visa or a sponsored visa. The new process does look a lot more challenging though, so any advice i can get it appreciated. I have bought tickets to attend a down under seminar in march, were there will be stands and speakers so im hoping to get more information then.