Difficulty in securing work

NomadicBrit

Hi all, first time post to this forum and might be a little long, so bear with me!

My wife and I relocated to Sydney in May last year, after spending close to a year travelling SE Asia and Western Australia after leaving the UK in June 2017. So we have now been here 9 months. After a few months of unsettled accommodation and having to move twice in the first 3 months, we got relatively settled early September and I began to look for work in earnest. 

I am a Software Engineer by trade (so have a PR Visa) but really over the last 10 years have been a Software Architecture and Senior Technical Manager and have worked for some very large organisations in the financial services sector for over 20 years. 

The problems I have been having getting work so far:

• Lack of senior level jobs compared to London (to be expected)
  • Being totally ignored by recruitment agents whilst applying for jobs I have all the skills for and demonstrable on my CV
  • Going for interviews, getting through to final phases to either get a "No" or never being got back too (unprofessional and highly disrespectful)
  • Been given no feedback at any point (or any at all when they ghost me even if I ask for feedback by a follow up email and then gets ignored).
  • Not understanding what I am doing wrong in interviews to not secure positions I am qualified, if not even over-qualified to do. 

The startups have generally been better at getting back to me than the medium to large sized organisation, which is interesting in and of itself.