Adelaide Job Hunting Tips

JetBlast

Hello,

I know about seek.com.au but I am looking for other options as well.

Does anyone know of any other websites I could use please?

Does anyone know of any large employers that don't use Seek please?

Also does anyone know of any or could recommend any recruitment agencies?

I work in IT if that makes any difference.

Thanks very much.

Edited by JetBlast
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Marisawright said:

If it ain’t on Seek it’s probably not being advertised at all.

Not entirely true, at least not in Adelaide.  The state government has it's own job vacancy site and not all the jobs on there make it to seek.  Same with all three Universities.  Although I will say if it's not on Seek it may be they are expecting to fill the job vacancy with an internal candidate.  Often there will be someone doing the job already on a casual or fixed term basis but they can't give them a continuing position unless they have been merit selected.  In these instances they have to advertise the job and go through the process of recruiting even though they know exactly who they want to give the job to.  It's all a bit of a farce if you ask me and completely unfair on the people who apply for the job.

@JetBlast what area of IT do you work in?  It's worth checking out the University website's for jobs (unisa.edu.au, adelaide.edu.au and flinders.edu.au).  Also see if you can find the state government job website, although I don't particularly recommend working for the state government.  If you say what kind of IT jobs you are looking for I might be able to point you in the direction of a few other places to try (or not depending on the skills).

• Like 3

14 minutes ago, NicF said: