You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

maxgoh222

(Help!) 482 Visa, Singapore to Australia

Hey guys, I recently got a formal offer from a large company for a role in Australia as a Software Engineer.

I was told that I will be sponsored under the 482 Visa. I have went to research on the visa requirements and found that I have met most of the requirements.

The main problem right now is that, I do not have a Bachelor’s degree as well as any sort of vendor certification relevant to my job. Aside from that, I have 3 years of relevant working experience as well as a diploma in the relevant role.

I would really appreciate some insight or advice on what I can do here. The recruiter seems really clueless on the immigration process and I’m not sure if my chances are doomed here as I do not have any sort of qualification.

Thanks for reading.

As I understand it, if the requirements specify you need a bachelors degree then no amount of experience and/or other qualifications will waiver that I’m afraid. 

Depending on your age and meeting other requirements you could work for 6 months (if they’ll let you) on a working holiday visa. If they’re happy to employ you going down this route won’t matter if you hold the skills or experience because it’s not built into the visa. 

This wont lead to PR and you would have to go home at the end of it though.

Might not work if you have a family etc.

Edited by Wonderingaloud
Extra info added

Due to escalating bills and budgetary cuts in the NHS, unfortunately, the light at the end of the tunnel has had to be switched off.

On 23/01/2019 at 04:13, maxgoh222 said:

The recruiter seems really clueless on the immigration process and I’m not sure if my chances are doomed here as I do not have any sort of qualification.