Job prospective for a UK household gas tech

Stephensa

Hello, 

So I am planning on moving down to Perth at the end of this year with a da facto visa so I get the right to work. 

However finding the job or even sector has been a challenge. So I am looking for suggestions or people been in the same boat. 

I have a degree in computer information systems but since obtaining it I have moved into the gas and electric industry .  Currently doing smart meter install have a gas safe installations and city and guilds electric (pretty crap) . 

I wish to continue working in the gas household industry but getting qualified in Perth is no quick matter can anyone suggest a path or companies which I get paid and learn or trade assistant  if that even exsistis ?

Thanks 

Stephen 

From my research so far there isn’t really a quick path for licensed trades over there. I am not a gas engineer and not going to Perth so it’s not 100%.

you would need to have your UK certs assessed most likely. If you can meet criteria for a trade on the list, why not start the assessment in the uk to give you a better chance on arrival. You could even get an extra 5 points for the visa if you need them.

On a plus minimum wage is better in Aus so trade assistant/ labourer may be an ok starting point whilst doing a training course.

43 minutes ago, Jsmull87 said:

From my research so far there isn’t really a quick path for licensed trades over there. I am not a gas engineer and not going to Perth so it’s not 100%.

you would need to have your UK certs assessed most likely. If you can meet criteria for a trade on the list, why not start the assessment in the uk to give you a better chance on arrival. You could even get an extra 5 points for the visa if you need them.

On a plus minimum wage is better in Aus so trade assistant/ labourer may be an ok starting point whilst doing a training course.