Any advise greatly appreciated

Andythebarber

Me and my girlfriend of 3years are currently in Australia on our 2nd 417 WHV which is due to expire 23rd feb 2019 and would like to know the best possible options for ourselves as we would love to live in Australia and don’t want to leave. I’m a Barber by trade and have been working in a salon but want to keep my options open and don’t want to settle for the first salon I’ve worked in. Everything seems so complicated and you can’t seem to find the information you need on the Gov website. I don’t know who or if I need to use as an agent or if it would be too difficult to do it on our own, what visa to go for etc. Any advise would be greatly appreciated in helping us with different options.

Thanks in advance 

Andy and Phoebe.

2 hours ago, Andythebarber said:

Me and my girlfriend of 3years are currently in Australia on our 2nd 417 WHV ...and would like to know the best possible options for ourselves as we would love to live in Australia and don’t want to leave.

In a nutshell, you don't have different options. Now you've used up your WHV, your only other chance is to get a skilled visa, either temporary or permanent.  

There's a few different kinds, but for all of them, your occupation must be on the list for that visa.  Australia doesn't want to take jobs from Australians, so they restrict migration to workers who have skills regarded as "in demand".   Lists are published and regularly updated.

If your occupation is on the list, AND if you have all the qualifications and experience they specify, AND if you can score enough points, then you are allowed to apply for a visa.  If not, then you can't.

There is no way around it - if your occupation is not on the list, that's the end of the story.  So that's your first step.  Barber is not on the list, hairdresser is.  What's your girlfriend's occupation?  If you are a couple (and can prove that you are), then only one of you needs to meet the criteria.