midwife APHRA registration with supervision attach

thebigmove2017

I have been extensively researching this, i am an Irish qualified midwife completed 4years (inc 9month supervised internship), i am concerned my registration will come with conditions as it seems alot of direct entry midwives have come up against this with APHRA. has anybody been through this, and is it difficult to obtain employment or an employer willing to complete the supervision period.

The problem is usually the continuity of care component 

you are required to have a specified number of women who you have followed through (ante natal , intra partum, and post natal) you don’t have to have delivered them though 

there is a certain number I think it is 20 women but do check as AHPRA change the requirements frequently, and it has to be on your transcript of training as a specific component 

most uk and I would think Irish training incorporates this element as standard and it’s not necessarily considered as an extra and is just part of your training program 

As to whether hospitals will support you in obtaining the requirements, most it seems will not why would they , there are hundreds of Aussie trained midwives who already meet the criteria and can only get temporary contracts

some big hospitals in capital cities might but it’s doubtful 

Its not just direct entry midwives who have this problem, but any midwife who can not show the required continuity of care component 

Anyway good luck 

Edited by shaunfreo

• 3 weeks later...

Hi there. Yes your registration with APHRA will come with conditions, and will require a period of supervised practice and a number of hoops to jump through to meet APHRAs requirements. Even then, you will have a notation on your registration to state that you can’t care for women in a continuity of care model I.e. a midwifery group practice.