Buying / building a house in Perth

gafuk

Hi, Cards on the table , I now sell houses for a living but I am not going to use this as an advertising vehicle.

As  my wife and I came over recently on a 143 Parent Visa , we have had so much help from the forum and especially "the brand new parent visa thread" I thought I might be able to answer some questions if anyone has any. We had so many worries about work, finance, jobs and housing, I hope my experience so far might help some people. We have been in Perth since June 2018 but had spent a great deal of time looking at property on our many holidays leading up to our migration.

I now work for one of the largest home builders in the country and love being involved in the property market which has always been an interest of mine. The Australian property market for those wishing to buy is made up of whats known as the established market ( lived in) and the new builds which are normally referred to as House and Land packages.

If you are a permanent resident you can get help as there is a grant "The first home owners grant" (FHOG) and this is currently $10,000 ( if you meet the criteria)

• Your property in total is less than $750,000
  • You’re 18 years or older
  • You’re an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • You’ve never owned a residential property in Australia
  • You occupy the home you buy as a principal place of residence for a continuous period of 6 months ( commencing within 12 months of completion of the home)

Also Stamp duty concession is as follows, As at 3 July 2014 the First Home Owner Rate of Duty applies to a dutiable transaction with a dutiable value of up to $530,000 for a house and land, or $400,000 for vacant land.

Every case may be different so read up and if in doubt get legal advice. I will gladly share what I know and as I am involved day to day I have the resources the company I work for so might be able to help.