Visa Help at 44 Years Old

Rosie101

Hi, I'm looking for some advice regarding the best route into Australia for myself and my partner. I have the chance of employment in Queensland and would initially be looking for an employer sponsered visa, and to take my partner on it too if I can. However, I will be 45 next summer and have been advised that if I choose this route then I will never be able to apply for permanent residency as I will be older than 45 by the time I make the application. My partner is still in his thirties, so I have been advised that it is better for him to be the principle applicant. He is Portuguese, and a Head Chef with no formal qualifications. I have a BA Honours degree and also a Masters degree, with relevant work experience, which I thought would have stood me in good stead to be the principle applicant. However, as far I know, if he is the primary applicant then my skills and qualifications will not be taken into account.

Does anyone have any advice about other options? Thanks :)

34 minutes ago, Rosie101 said:

Hi, I'm looking for some advice regarding the best route into Australia for myself and my partner. I have the chance of employment in Queensland and would initially be looking for an employer sponsered visa, and to take my partner on it too if I can. However, I will be 45 next summer and have been advised that if I choose this route then I will never be able to apply for permanent residency as I will be older than 45 by the time I make the application. My partner is still in his thirties, so I have been advised that it is better for him to be the principle applicant. He is Portuguese, and a Head Chef with no formal qualifications. I have a BA Honours degree and also a Masters degree, with relevant work experience, which I thought would have stood me in good stead to be the principle applicant. However, as far I know, if he is the primary applicant then my skills and qualifications will not be taken into account.