309 while in Japan (UK citizen) can I still get a 600?

KaytoPattzz

Hello,

Im new to the visa hell and going out of my mind with worry. I’m a UK citizen living I Tokyo with my Aussie husband and dual son age 1.

I applied for 309 partner visa in September, medicals and police checks uploaded in October. No further activity on the application at all.

We are leaving Tokyo in December to move to Australia, so I have applied for a 600 and requested 12 months. I actually applied for a three month evisa first but withdrew as I felt the 12 month one was better and more honest.

Met in 2011, lived together since 2012, married to my husband for almost 4 years and we have a 1yr old dual citizen child. I’ve front loaded the application - 96 documents just for me!

Any idea of timings for the 309?

Also, will the 600 be ok as I’m technically  not going as a tourist? I’ve fully explained the situation on the 600 form so they know exactly why I’m applying.

I appreciate any insight or experience sharing you have. Good luck to you all 😊.

Thank you for your reply. 😃 

This is what I’m worried about. I was advised to apply for a 600 when I called the Australian embassy here in Tokyo and explained my worry about the 309 bit benign granted in time for December but I guess each situation is different.

I wanted to be completely honest on the form as they would know I’m applying for a 309 anyway.

I have read lots of situations where people are waiting it out on a 600. Even with my husband and baby son being citizens you still think they’d refuse me? 

It’s very worrying.

Unfortunately, the one golden rule is never take advice from immigration. I know it sounds odd, but they aren't qualified as the people you speak to on the phone are just call centre staff. Hence, they get a legal indemnity for bad advice. We see incredibly poor advice given by them. Hence, the official advice and one that the forum recommends is to speak to a registered migration agent