You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

missbell88

UK national sitting English Test on holiday in USA- acceptable?

I need to take my PTEs but I really don't want to pull a sickie from work (I never have and don't want to). I've got a weeks holiday in October and am heading to New York. Would DoHA think it's odd/suspect having someone from the UK, take a test New York, for Australian immigration?

P.S. I'm a teacher so can't book a day off work. 

Do the centres offer weekend tests?

I just want PIO to be a happy place where people are nice to each other and unicorns poop rainbows

2 hours ago, missbell88 said:

I need to take my PTEs but I really don't want to pull a sickie from work (I never have and don't want to). I've got a weeks holiday in October and am heading to New York. Would DoHA think it's odd/suspect having someone from the UK, take a test New York, for Australian immigration?

P.S. I'm a teacher so can't book a day off work. 

It doesn't really matter where you take it, it is all electronic and the certificates are the same etc.

Have you studied for the PTE? I wouldn't underestimate it. There are English teachers who haven't made the required marks for the exam!

9 hours ago, missbell88 said:

Unfortunately not 😞 

Are you sure? I have taken Saturday Tests in the US. 

IELTS 07/22 R 7.5 W 8.5 S 8.0 L 8.5 O 8.0| Positive Assessment on 10/12 | SA SS Online 10/19 | SA Docs Recvd. 11/02 | SA SS Approved 11/18 | 176 lodged 11/30 | PCC and Medicals requested 12/05 | Meds Finalzed 09/01 | PCC met 31/01 | Visa Granted 02/01

My Blog

It shouldn't be a problem to take your test in the USA. Mine was done in Canada (even though I'm a dual citizen). There were others taking the test that were not Canadian citizens. The result is electronic and that's the only part immigration really cares about.