You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

DES

Native Speakers with low IELTS scores?

Hi, I'm a freelance radio producer working on a story about language tests in the migration process.

I'm wondering if anyone here (or anyone you know) has received a low/disappointing IELTS and would be interested in sharing their story. 

Thanks!

IELTS is a poorly constructed test concocted by little people who are trying to show how very
clever they are. It tests a candidate's ability to perform under test conditions and people who
do not have good examination technique often do not score as well as they should have.
Westly Russell

Packer scores in test of English
Elisabeth Wynhausen | August 23, 2008
EVERY time computer engineer Faisal Shaikh failed his English test -- as he did
four times -- James Packer was a little richer.
Mr Packer is the non-executive chairman of a company that profits each time
someone sits the sole English language proficiency test for visa applicants accepted
by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship.
The International English Language Testing System is the most widely used English
language proficiency test in the world. But migration agents say Immigration
guidelines mean most people fail it at least once, forcing them to sit for it again, for
another $280.
"The problem is that you generally have to get a score of at least six out of nine in
each of four bands -- reading, writing, speaking and listening," said migration agent
Mark Glazbrook.
While universities permit test candidates to average out their results, as long as they
reach a minimum score of six, the department refuses to allow visa applicants do so.
"This is nice for IELTS as it means that more people are required to re-sit the test,"
Mr Glazbrook said.
More than 100,000 visa applicants a year sit for the IELTS test, he said. Reportedly