Seriously thinking of making the leap to Oz

Hello. This is my first post on this forum. Forgive me if there are similar posts. 

My husband and I are seriously discussing moving to Australia in the next 1-2 years. The U.K. is dragging us down; it’s getting more and more crowded and people are getting more aggressive. The roads can’t cope with the traffic increase. The NHS is diabolical (and I work in it!) More houses are being built everywhere, even on green belt land. Yet no provision is made for the increase in population to schools or health services. Crime is on the increase as visible policing is non existent. So, in a nutshell, we are not fans of our country! 

Australia is something we’ve discussed over the  past decade but only this year we’ve been serious about making a move. 

Thinking of Melbourne at the moment, as it’s not as isolated as Perth. 

I’m a nurse (practice nurse of 12 yrs, before that a district nurse for 3 yrs and before that an orthopaedic nurse for 1yr)

im working towards my degree as I hold a DipHE in adult nursing. Only 1 more module to do then I’m BSc level ?

reading the visa criteria I need to be degree level before I apply. 

My hubby is self employed, non skilled worker. 

We have 3 children; ages 10,8 and 12weeks.

i don’t really know what to do first/where to start with making enquiries about moving? Do I approach health care facilities for any vacancies? Do I apply for a visa? That could be costly if we don’t move!! 

We are looking at going to Australia for 2-3 weeks in October to put out feelers our...

any tips or advice from anyone greatly received!!

• Like 2

You will need a visa before health services can look seriously at any application, also, they generally want to fill vacancies pretty quickly.  My own health service gives priority to citizens or PR visa holders.