Recommended areas to live with kids anywhere in Aus?

Bec87

Hi, I am new to this forum. This is my first post. Hubby and I have 2 young children (4 months and 23 months). My hubby has a good job as a technical sales engineer and I am an early years teacher currently on maternity. We are seriously thinking about moving to Australia. Life here in Nottinghamshire has become boring and same same. We lived in Jakarta, Indonesia for a year prior to having children so we have experience of living abroad. Although we arent going to make a rushed decision we are already considering Brisbane as my hubby would be considered for a job with a company he has worked for in the past, however we aren't going to let this sway us too much. My question is can anyone tell me their opinion on the best place to live (any suburb in any city) with 2 young children? A beach is a must, playgrounds, outdoor activities, indoor activities, good nurseries schools etc, somewhere with other like minded parents with who we could potentially make friends with. I have no idea where to start looking. Thank you:)

To be honest, this is a pretty hard question to answer in some respects, and really easy to answer in others.  Australia is approximately the same size as Europe, and there are huge differences in climate between the different cities and states.  Families live happily in every area, but it really depends on what you specifically want.  For example, we lived in Sydney, and we could have quite happily lived in Tasmania or Victoria, but Queensland, WA and the NT would not have been to our liking.  Work is going to play a massive part on where you can live in terms of actually getting a job and affordability.  Sydney (for example) is great for families, but if there are no jobs and you can't afford the (very expensive) rent, living there is going to be pretty miserable.