Auz tax return, what can I claim?

sualg

So i arrived in Sydney in Oct last year.

Im just filling out my tax return and wondered what are the regulations regarding things i can claim back against my tax bill. I work full time as a employee from a single location.

1) ive had to buy a load of new shirts, suits, shoes can i offset any of that against my bill?

2) ive had to buy a laptop can i claim that back?

3) some days i work from home , can i claim a percentage of my broadband

4) anything else i should consider?

2 minutes ago, sualg said:

Im just filling out my tax return and wondered what are the regulations regarding things i can claim back against my tax bill. I work full time as a employee from a single location.

1) ive had to buy a load of new shirts, suits, shoes can i offset any of that against my bill?

It might be worthwhile getting an accountant to do your first tax return?  Also, consider where you came from - is there a double taxation agreement, i.e. you can't be charged twice for the same income. If you arrived in October from e.g. the UK you would probably be classed as UK resident for the whole tax year, but might be able to claim split year taxation … I daresay you already know all this, but just in case you don't you need to check it all very carefully. I've just done my UK tax return together with an application for split year taxation and it was quite complicated - again I'd use an accountant.  Hope this helps!

2 hours ago, sualg said:

I’m not a tax agent but my understanding, assuming you are employed by an organisation and not self employed, is:

1, no.