Divemaster Scuba Diving Course - Advice

Hello all

I am looking for advice on where to do my PADI Divemaster course for 2 months in late September this year. For context I am a qualified PADI Rescue Diver and have all the requirements needed to do my Divemaster course. I am also a Marine Biologist, so any advice on dive organisations that have a science/conservation focus would be a huge bonus!

I am looking for advice on: 1. Location and 2. Dive Course

1. Location - all my previous dive experiences have been actually on the reef, rather than in cities which take out dive boats to the reef every day. I would like to find a location in Aus that is an island-diving community, rather than that city-living feel (such as in Cairns or Brisbane) which take a boat out to the reef every day which can take ages.

2. Dive Course - once I know of a good location, I can find dive shops myself. However I would love some recommendations on specific diveshops/courses that also match my location requirements above. I am looking for a 6-8 week course which combines me working for free, full time in the diveshop with a cheaper dive course package. Rather than a 3 week intensive course which has a $$$$ price tag to match. I dont want to go over the 2 months as I will be moving to Melbourne mid/late November

At this stage any advice or help on my request will be helpful :)

Many thanks

Meg

Guest The Pom Queen

If you are looking for Island Diving your options aren’t going to be great. On the East Coast you are going to have the Whitsundays, Fitzroy,  Heron, Lizard and Lady Elliot but to be honest most are going to have the high price tags. Also you aren’t going to get any operators out there who will employ you etc.

I really would consider Cairns and the diveshops like Pro Dive, Quicksilver etc.