How do people actually get into work in Australia?

Brucolino

Hi all,

I am a permanent resident who was granted a skilled migration VISA based on my skills and experience. Back in the UK, I worked in IT for 7 years for the biggest IT company in the world. I have professional certifications as well as academic and in my previous role I received 2 promotions. I consider myself very skilled and experienced.

When I moved over to Australia in November and begun my job search I assumed it was a bad period due to the Christmas holidays coming up so didn't think much of it. After the new year, my partner joined me and we both started looking for work.

I have met and spoken to job recruiters on multiple occasions who have been very impressed with my CV. Everyone keeps telling me ' you will find work in no time ' or ' you will get massive interest and job offers thrown your way'. Months have gone by and I am still unemployed..

I have been sending multiple applications a day. I have tried directly phoning up job advertisers only to be told how impressive my skills and experience are and that they would get back to me soon. They never do. Once I've rang 2-3 times I give up because I begin to perceive it as me harassing them.

I am applying via SEEK, via Linkedin and through job recruiters. The only jobs I apply to are the ones posted on that same day(to increase my chances of them having been filled already). The only replies I receive are to tell me I have been unsuccessful.

I have had 2 interviews in total. They completely praised me and told me they would be getting back to me. One of the guys even said ‘ we will be moving fast before someone else snatches you up’. I never heard back. When I called to follow up, he didn’t even remember my name. That was 2 months ago.