Rockhampton

apj696

Hi, I’ve been in Sydney for 2 yrs on a 457 visa, my nomination is in for PR. My company have offered me a job in Rockhampton. Im a single mum, daughter Is in year 4.

School fees are killing me in NSW, so just the thought of not having those to pay are tempting.

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on living in that area, I prefer to live by the coast. Rental prices are much more affordable than Sydney!

I had friends who moved to Rockhampton and they seemed to enjoy it.  It's a big country town rather than a city, so it's pretty quiet.  If your daughter was older, she might find it a bit boring, but there should be plenty to keep a four year old amused! 

It would be too hot for me, but I'm not good with heat. 

As you're on a 457 and presumably your employer will pay for the move, it sounds like a good opportunity to experience a different part of Australia.

Edited by Marisawright

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi @apj696 we stayed in Rocky a couple of nights ago and are currently a couple of hours inland from there at the moment. You may find Rockhampton a culture shock if you are use to the bright lights of Sydney. Although the population is larger than Mackay there doesn’t seem to be the same amount of shops/facilities etc. Saying that we haven’t spent any length of time there.  If you love the outdoors then I think it would be a fantastic base to explore the surrounding areas ie National Parks, Capricorn Caves.

If you do move there please look at the flood maps as Rocky is often hit with flooding, the last one being 2017. https://www.rockhamptonregion.qld.gov.au/CouncilServices/Disaster-Management/Floods

E8678A32-7329-4EDA-BF15-7CD6C616B0F8.jpeg

ACECC0A0-77DE-41FA-A1EB-6BC9BA26C6A9.jpeg

• 2 weeks later...
On 4/18/2018 at 21:13, apj696 said:

Hi, I’ve been in Sydney for 2 yrs on a 457 visa, my nomination is in for PR. My company have offered me a job in Rockhampton. Im a single mum, daughter Is in year 4.