Illustration or art teacher

Tasha

Hi everyone,

I live in Scotland and my son age 22 wants to move to Australia after studying his Open Uni degree (will finish 2020 I think) in Computing. He wants myself and my daughter (age 7) to all go. The idea has really grown on me, but I wonder about best options to have best chances of getting a visa. I am 41 years old so time is important here.

I have a degree in Fine Art and work in an Arts Organisation as a gallery assistant. I am skilled in oil painting and drawing, but have been focusing on my young daughter recently so not done a lot of painting. I would say I have talent in that area though. I looked at the skill shortages and note that illustrators and secondary school teachers are needed. I could do illustration I feel, but think a Masters in Illustration might be a good option to hone these skills or I could do a year teacher training to become an art teacher. I don't know what would be easier to get in with. At the moment I seem to have 50 points on the independent visa skilled points system so not enough. I think I might have to be sponsored by a region maybe?

So I am just considering what my best course of action in these next couple of years. Does Illustration look the better option or teaching? How do they assess me to see if I can do illustration? Would having an art degree be acceptable or would they want me to prove my skills some other way?

Many thanks for any contribution :)

First things first - your son can certainly apply for a Working Holiday Visa when he's finished his course, which would give him a year (or possibly two) in Australia.  However, he shouldn't assume that he'll be able to get a visa to move permanently.