Early Years Teacher skills assessment

CarrieJ82

Hi everyone

New to this site but can't seem to find the answer I want so wondering if anyone could help!

We have just sent off our application form to have my skills assessed as an Early Years Teacher.....my background is a foundation degree in Early Years, BA HONS in childhood studies (0-8 years) and a PGCE in primary (my placement was done in year 1 and 3 so ages 5 and 7).

Does anyone have any experience of whether this would be excepted? I've worked in Early Years for last 8 years but only qualified with my pgce in Sept 2017 so can't use any of my work experience.

Hope this makes sense!Thanks in advance.

P.s we are using an immigration agency who have said it will be fine but not sure I trust them 100% not to just say what we want to hear!! 

If you migration agent is relaxed about it then you should be fine as they will likely deal with AITSL regularly. Plenty of teachers make the move.  I did the application for my wife back in September for Early Childhood Teacher with no issues but her PGCE was specifically early years and said this in the title which I was told AITSL like as makes it obvious to them. We still had to supply a letter from the university stating how many days supervised practice she had as they wouldl not take the PGCE on face value. Perhaps you could get the university to add the age ranges to the  letter just clarifying you spent all your time in the lower age range.

you are correct that they will only accept teaching experience after completion of PGCE. 

Thanks for the reply! 

Yes I've sent a letter from the Uni stating the age ranges so just really hoping that this, along with the early years degree will sway them.  I didn't even know you could do a PGCE specifically for early years or I would have done that!

Do you mind me asking if you have you managed to get your visa sorted now?