Popular trades in QLD?

hi,

I'm moving to hopefully Cairns in September if not will be in rural qld where-ever the wife can get a job, but I'd like to do a short training course in a popular trade in rural qld, but I have no idea what trades are popular or in need, if any can suggest something that'd be great.

I currently work in IT.

Edited by SUPERSTARDJ01

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi @SUPERSTARDJ01 Cairns is the Paradise I wish we could have continued living in until we died. You will love it there.

Work wise will be tough, the majority of jobs are in hospitality and tourism, sales or health. I am guessing your wife could be a nurse/teacher? 

‘I would say the next industry sector would be construction, but unless you already have a qualification and experience in a trade it will be hard going. 

‘I don’t know what your interests are, but if you enjoyed or fancied being a diving instructor it’s something to work towards once there, a lot of the diving schools will train you up.

If you are interested in working in hospitality I would highly recommend doing the following courses that can be done online and are quite a reasonable price. They are required by the majority of hospitality establishments. There are other online companies who offer the exact same course so check around for the cheapest. We used the one below for my son.

RSA - Responsible Service of Alcohol - http://www.hia.edu.au/responsible-service-of-alcohol/queensland/

RSG - Responsible Service of Gambling - http://www.hia.edu.au/responsible-service-of-gambling/queensland/

Food Handling Courses - http://www.hia.edu.au/food-safety-training/food-handling-courses/

Some places also like you to have a Barista course, you can do it at the TAFE in Cairns however we went down to Brisbane for my sons.

Check that any course you do is accredited as there are a number of Mickey Mouse type training facilities around.