Electrical A Licence

Hi

I’m sure this topic will have been raised plenty of times before but the only posts I see are pretty dated. Here goes, we (me and family) are coming to Australia  in September. I am an Electrician and hold a OTSR Level 3 Cert. My understanding is that this Cert entitles me to a restricted licence from Energy Safety, BUT, just how hard is it to actually get an employer to take on someone with a restricted licence?

Can anything like Theory tests be done from the UK before arriving?

Anyone with any up to date information will be appreciated.

Thanks

Edited by Antony Chinnock

That’s my big concern at the moment as well.  In fact I posted pretty much the same on another thread last hoping to get some positive stories.  I know the down under centre now offer the theory to the gap training whilst in the U.K but the cost seems higher than doing it in Aus. Looks like you need to be aware of the timescales too as they say it must be completed within 12 months including a practical exam that is done in Brisbane. Before spending the money make sure you have a clear moving date in mind. Saying that, there seem to be a  lot of sparks doing the course with them and they have a Facebook to share experience and issues with the theory. Then there’s the -2 months of e profiling - where does it end !!!

a lot of sparks make the move so it certainly must be possible to get work.  They are probably too busy enjoying their new surroundings to come back here 

As with everything you get out what you put in and employers will recognise that. 

Good luck with everything. 

Hi Thanks.

I am just looking at my paperwork from Vetassess and it details what is required when we get to Aus, and also lists some helpful website links which I didn’t realise I had until my agent told me. I agree with you that there are plenty of us sparkies making the move so it’s possible (that’s me picking the positives out of it).
I agree with you, you get out what you put in.