Which VISA should we apply for

PatrickR

Hi,

This is my first time posting but have found this website very useful for doing research related to migration!

I'm just seeing if any one has any advice on the best course of action: I'm Australian and my girlfriend is from the UK, she is currently living with me as is on a working holiday visa

In the hope of finding sponsorship she is applying for jobs but we are aware of the 6 months to one employer rule which severely limits job opportunities, she is a qualified primary teacher here and in the UK

as far as I can work out we have two options: Apply for state nomination visa (189?) or apply for a Defacto visa. I have a couple questions based around these things

What are the general wait times for a 189 visa, is there a chance she will have to leave the country while it is processing? a rough points test shows she will be around 70-75

We've technically been together for 1 year as of now..... but she had to return to the UK for a period of that time while she sorted her life out there before the move back to Aus, we've lived together since the start of November last year - At what point do we claim the start of the relationship for the visa purpose, do we need to wait until November?

Is there any point applying for full time work at this stage? or just wait until she is on a permanent visa - has anyone found it possible to get a sponsorship with this 6 month limit on employment, most employers want someone who is going to be able to stay long term 

Sorry for the long post but all this visa info can get pretty confusing

Cheers,

Pat

Hi Patrick go for the partner 820 visa if you have the 7k to hand? as soon as your partners  runs out she will automatically be granted a bridging visa that will allow her to continue to work whilst the partner visa is being processed.thats how i understand it anyway worth looking into. Mel   

No, it doesn't override it.