PG DIp in Nursing

Jen3103

I was just wondering if anyone can give me some direction or advice. 

I am am very keen to emigrate to Australia and I keep being told conflicting advice from a variety of people. I have a PG Dip in Mental Health Nursing with 4 years experience now, is this qualification accepted for a skilled visa? I have been told to start the visa application off with the chance of being refused (and lose all the money) which is a big expensive risk. 

Has anyone else been successful emigrating with a PG Dip in Nursing? 

Thanks 

To work as a registered nurse you will need to have a degree in order to register with AHPRA.  I've seen posts that people are registering in New Zealand and then applying for a modified skills assessment from ANAMAC and then registration with AHPRA.

The difficulty I have is I have a degree in psychology and counselling and a POST GRADUATE diploma in mental health nursing but there is no clear statement on this being accepted despite it being a higher qualification than a degree. 

I will look into the NZ route. 

Thank you 

Edited by Jen3103

2 hours ago, Jen3103 said:

The difficulty I have is I have a degree in psychology and counselling and a POST GRADUATE diploma in mental health nursing but there is no clear statement on this being accepted despite it being a higher qualification than a degree. 

I will look into the NZ route. 

Thank you 

Have you been working as a nurse or psychologist?  You will need recency of practice to pass the skills assessment.

I did the 2 year PG Dip in Adult Nursing. I know what you mean because so many people think you have the old 2 year diploma, as soon as you say the word 'diploma'! I haven't passed my ANMAC skills assessment yet, but I have heard of people getting AHPRA approval and being able to work in Aus with it, so it must be grand in the end.

PS They do clearly state you must have 'degree level or higher', which means postgraduate should be okay.

Edited by LeeH