Skilled visa 189 help

michaelc17

Hi Guys, 

I have started looking at getting a skilled workers visa, ( Independent preferably) 

I am a qualified carpenter with an estimated 55 points. 

I understand i have to take an English test to boost the points over the threshold. Basically looking for advice on the best approach from people with similar experience. Is it best to do the application myself or through and agent? whats the stages of applying? I`m assuming sitting the English test is the first port of call? 

Any advice greatly appreciated. 

It is doable yourself if you have the time and are organised but 55 points is not enough. The minimum requirement is 60 points and skill select doesn't appear to be calling anyone with less than 70 forward at the moment.

Before spending any money, I would speak to some agents as most offer an initial consultation free and won't take your money if your chances are slim.

You could also talk to the Down Under Centre as they are involved with carpenter skills assessments in the UK.  

2 minutes ago, Jsmull87 said:

It is doable yourself if you have the time and are organised but 55 points is not enough. The minimum requirement is 60 points and skill select doesn't appear to be calling anyone with less than 70 forward at the moment.

Before spending any money, I would speak to some agents as most offer an initial consultation free and won't take your money if your chances are slim.

You could also talk to the Down Under Centre as they are involved with carpenter skills assessments in the UK.  

Thanks for the quick reply,