Shauna H

Hi, 

Myself and my husband are looking to move to Australia on a 189 visa, I am a qualified Accountant and he is a qualified Electrician we are both 32.

Can someone please help me with the following queries : 

1. Are we better applying under my Husbands trade or mine? (I was told the market is saturated with Accountants)

2. Can anyone advise of an agency who are successful - I know there are so many people claiming to be the best.

Any advice at all would be a great help.

Shauna

As already noted it is harder for accountants but you could submit an EOI each if you wish and see which is pulled out the hat first. There are pros and cons to each. 

Your assessment will likely be cheaper and quicker but the occupation is pro rata

If you have a degree etc. and your OH is a regular sparky like me then you will have 5 extra points for education.

Your husband will need his skills assessed regardless for his OSTR which leads to a provisional electrical licence - So no cost saving in the long run. I am told it is also less stressful doing this before leaving the UK.

You probably want the extra 5 points for partner skills so you'll probably need your skills assessed also.

Basically for the cost of an extra English test (and you can keep each other company as its a long day) you could cover the bases with an EOI each.

• Like 1

Thanks everyone for your replies - I will definitely apply under my husbands skill.

I got my 1st quote and its coming up in the region of £7k - has anyone done it themselves? would it be worth the pain or am I better applying through an agency?

Thanks again :)