Single parent chances

Purplepasta

I would appreciate some honest feedback with thoughts. I understand that things can change very quickly but wondered how I stand with a skilled visa based on my situation. 

I am 37 this year.

I have a degree in Early Childhood Studies (2004) meaning I taught pre school children. For the past three years I’ve been a teaching assistant but the school are using me in ks2 not early years. 

Its just me and 2 children aged 8 and 11, If I sold my house today I would have about £110k to take with me. I have sole custody and parental responsibility  

I know people in Victoria but no relatives and no idea where to start. 

Ive previously had a  whv in 2003 so cannot have another. 

Many thanks for any information. 

As wrussell recommends - check out if you meet the criteria for the skills assessment first of all - that will be the key to a visa.

It's hard to say if your savings will be enough - you'll obviously need to set up and there will be some child care costs.  As a rule, people generally suggest that you should have enough savings to cover about 6 months rent/food/bills etc., in case you don't find work right away - obviously for you as you're not a couple you wouldn't have the safe guard of your partner possibly bringing in a wage to keep things afloat.

40 minutes ago, ali said:

As wrussell recommends - check out if you meet the criteria for the skills assessment first of all - that will be the key to a visa.

It's hard to say if your savings will be enough - you'll obviously need to set up and there will be some child care costs.  As a rule, people generally suggest that you should have enough savings to cover about 6 months rent/food/bills etc., in case you don't find work right away - obviously for you as you're not a couple you wouldn't have the safe guard of your partner possibly bringing in a wage to keep things afloat.