Your advice needed - 489 or TSS and long termoptions

lewisant48

Hi guys. I've posted here a few times before explaining our situation so hopefully those in the know may have seen my posts!

Basically we are in England, not even applied yet but very close to starting the process and my gf/wife by August has been in touch with vets in Adelaide/SA who can offer sponsorship through the TSS visa. She is a vet nurse (29) and i'm a care home manager (33).

Vet nurse is currently on the short term list so we can only get a temporary 2 year visa if we go down the TSS route.

Advice needed - While on the TSS visa, are we allowed to apply for a longer term visa such as a 489? Or are we just a bit better off going through the rigmarole of the 489 now and paying for the skills assessment etc as she has more than enough points. Then when we're in Aus our only major visa worry will be the 887 after 2 years to apply for PR.

Thanks!

PS - my job is on the medium list but i don't have enough points so TSS through me is our other option as that could be a 4 year visa which i believe can be transformed to something more long term after 2 years? Yes? No?

The TSS is just a temp job, that happens to be in another country.   If she hates the job, she can't leave, because then you'd both have to go home. If the business goes bust, you'll both have to go home.  You may find it hard to get work, because employers know you can't give any undertakings about whether you'll stay - if your gf gets the sack, you'll disappear.

The trouble with TSS contracts is that employers have a lot of power over you - you can't hand in your notice if they treat you badly or demand unreasonable overtime, because you don't want to get thrown out of the country.  Some employers take advantage of that. So you need to have confidence in the integrity of the employer.

The 489 would be a much better option IMO, even if it is a rigmarole.