Unsure of ANZSOC Occupation

jrc01

Hi,

I'm looking to move to Perth next year so I've started looking into the process, researching visa options, etc.

I currently work in the mining industry, working as a corporate finance manager. I provided a supporting and partially manager role in a recent large capital raise reporting to the CFO and am now managing large portions of a few billion dollars raise for our next stage of financing. As part of this, I manage various consultants drafting reports for due diligence purposes, liaise with banks and potential investors including running DD processes with capital providers, handle all of our financial modelling, and generally advise the CEO and CFO on a variety of strategic matters.

My question is whether this fits into a specific ANZSCO occupation. My first thoughts were finance manager - my qualification (BA in Economics and Management at Oxford) plus part-qualifications in the ACA seem to cover off the qualification side of things. However the finance manager role seems to be more 'internal finance' based rather than the corporate finance work that I do, although my understanding is that the employment based skills section is optional just for additional points? Is that right?

Also I just saw finance manager isn't even on WA's skilled occupation list so would that rule out a 190 visa for WA? Will I have to go the employer sponsored route? 

Appreciate anyone's thoughts - going to also speak to a MARA agent to get their input. Thanks.

Hi there,

I suggest that you speak with a MARA agent as an initial consultation to help formulate a strategy.  Those that post regularly here provide good advice.

In accountancy related fields the points requirements are now crazy and it's best to get professional advise as you are starting out - especially as Finance Manager (132211) isn't on the list for WA.  For Accountant General under the 189 visa the effective points requirements is 75+ with no invites in the last round.