Learning disability (developmental disability) nursing

SarahM1705

19 hours ago, SarahM1705 said:

Hi all. Im a learning disability nurse and can apply for 189 visa based on this. I've tried looking for jobs but can't seem to find any. Does anyone know if there actually are job opportunities in Oz for me as an LD nurse? Thanks

Hi SarahM, this is not something I thought was recognised here. They carve the work up differently. Paediatric seems to cover all areas up to 18, they have child psych as well and when they talk of disability that covers adults both physical and learning disability. I have not seen jobs like you would see in the UK advertised here.

They have case managers for disability and then a lot of the hands on is done by care assistants and then OTs and physios and psychology do the assessments. General nurses would do the nursing needs. This may be wide if the mark and others may have better/ different info.

I’m in at work tomorrow and will ask around. I’m an adult nurse.

Have you had a skills assessment?

It may be neither of us is looking for the right job title. 

I’ll let you know.

1 hour ago, Amber Snowball said:

Hi SarahM, this is not something I thought was recognised here. They carve the work up differently. Paediatric seems to cover all areas up to 18, they have child psych as well and when they talk of disability that covers adults both physical and learning disability. I have not seen jobs like you would see in the UK advertised here.

They have case managers for disability and then a lot of the hands on is done by care assistants and then OTs and physios and psychology do the assessments. General nurses would do the nursing needs. This may be wide if the mark and others may have better/ different info.

I’m in at work tomorrow and will ask around. I’m an adult nurse.

Have you had a skills assessment?

It may be neither of us is looking for the right job title. 

I’ll let you know.