register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Jane93

Early Childhood Teacher help

Hi there,

I have a 3year BSc Psychology degree already and I am ideally hoping to do a PGCE in Primary Education in September. 

Would I be able to apply as an Early Childhood teacher if I had at least a 45 day supervised placement in a classroom with children of the appropriate age whilst on my PGCE? For example in a reception class where the children are aged 4-5? 

Or would I be required to do the Early Years Education PGCE which covers only children aged 3-7? 

I am hoping to migrate to Australia but due to family circumstances cannot fully commit yet. Therefore I am apprehensive to do an Early Years PGCE as I feel it would limit my career options in England more if I have to stay, as surely primary schools would rather hire someone who is qualified to teach all years rather than just the first few years?

Anyone with any experience here who could help me out would be doing me a massive favour.

Thanks!!

Personally I would go for the Primary then do a Masters in Ed Psych - there are always vacancies for school counselors/ ed psychs. But if you’re relying on your occupation for a visa you’d want to be sure you could register as a psychologist.

The other thing to remember is that just because a skill is on the list today doesn’t mean it will be in the list tomorrow. Choose your career because it’s what you are busting to do not because it’s on a visa list to somewhere.

Agree with the above. Do what you actually want to do regardless of if it leads to a visa. The lists change all the time - more changes expected this week - so no point finding yourself being qualified in something you don't want to actually do and that you in either scenario don't qualify for a visa

Hi all,