Going back

Jock

For the last two years I have been on casual employment and it's not been a financial success, and when the school holidays kick in, I have not  a lot of work. I'm a school bus driver .

I made a deal with myself that if I didn't get a permanent position, by the time I'm 58, I would return to the UK.

So, as I haven't been back for some years, I would like to hear some thoughts,ideas about the pros and cons of heading home.

Funny that,,saying heading home. Been here since 1994 and I don't think I've ever called Adelaide home!

Good luck! My observation is that UK isn’t nearly as ageist and both the DH and I were offered jobs since being here but neither of us actually wanted one. Personally I am very happy in U.K. and even though caring for elderly relatives is an onerous full time job in itself I live in a lovely part, the weather has been fab so my fitness has increased 100%, there’s so much to do as a retiree.  I guess it all depends what you want to get out of a move. 

• Like 1

TBH I think that if after 20 plus years you don't think of this place as your home, then looking at a move back isn't a bad idea.

I also think that being on a casual contract can be rather hard going after a while, especially if you rely on the income and its pretty much non existent during school holidays.