Salary negotiation Melbourne

Cldb

Hi all

I’ve just been offered a job with a 457 visa in Melbourne and I’m in the process of negotiating my wage. I currently get paid £42,000 pro rata in the UK and have been offered $79,800 which converted works roughly at 45k. If comparing like for like this is more than I get paid now  but taking into consideration the higher cost of living I’m thinking it would effectively be a pay cut. As much as it is a fantastic opportunity to live abroad I don’t want to go and end up struggling. My husband will be with me and will be job hunting when we get there. I’ve read somewhere about negotiating 2.2-2.5 in dollars to keep a potentially similar standard of living, is this correct? I would be grateful for any advice, I obviously want to negotiate as much as I can but also don’t want to get to the point where they tell me to get stuffed lol.

Thanks Peach, I already know the salary scales.

Im a social worker and they have offered me the lowest pay scale for my grade which when considering cost of living I'm not sure equates to a similar standard of living that i have now. I'm hoping to negotiate higher on the scale but also trying to figure out the lowest i can realistically accept without being skint.

Ok another way, UK average salary is 27K GBP (my keyboard doesn't have a pound sign) 42K pro-rata is 50% over the average. Average salary in Australia is around $80k.  So you'd only be on the average salary (assuming you're working equivalent hours).   Another comparison is your current income compared to local house prices/rents and the same for Melbourne.  What does 420,000 GBP buy you in your town?  What would $790,000 buy you in Melbourne where you will work? (in some areas not much).

42k GBP lifestyle in UK would be better than a 79k AUD lifestyle in AU. Rent costs itself in Mel would be high compared to the UK (unless you are coming from London).