Parent Visa 804 or 864?

evionthego

Hi

I am in the process of moving my mother out to Australia from the UK. I am a perm resident and my sister is a citizen and we are her only children. My mother meets all of the criteria required for the 804 (non contributory parent visa) or 864 (contributory parent) visas. The question we have is which do we go for and we would appreciate any advice. As far as we can see, the only advantage the 864 has over the 804 is the visa process time and the fact that she will be a perm resident within @2 years (as opposed to 30 yrs+ with the 804). The visa cost is @$60,000 for the 864 and only $11,000 for the 804.

The only risk we can see is if the Government change any legislation or the visa requirements which mean that she would have to leave Australia. Now everything we find online pretty much indicates that even if they did this, it would only affect new applications and not current applications, so she would basically be safe to stay indefinitely in Australia regardless.

With visa processing waiting times of 30 yrs minimum for the 804, the reality is that she is unlikely to ever become a PR of Australia if we choose this visa due to her age (currently 68yrs old). 

Which brings us back to the cost of the visa - is the 864 worth $60,000? Any advice or experience would be greatly appreciated.

First, there are other considerations if she applies on shore. Yes, she would get a bridging visa. However, the conditions of the tourist visa would apply for the duration of the bridging visa. This means she would be reliant on reciprocal health care. This is a very long way from Medicare. Personally I would not like to be elderly knowing I would have limited health care. There may also be financial aspects you would need to take financial advice on.