Work for a uk company but will be 190 PR - tax issues?

Lucy Jane Victoria Hose

Hi,

Apologies if this has been asked before, not seen many threads on this topic.

I’ve told my work I’m leaving. They are a uk based company and have offered to see if they could keep me on their PAYE for 3 days a week when I move. This would be amazing, but is it even possible for a uk company with no ties overseas to keep me on? They would pay into my UK bank account. They’d be paying in £s like they do now (I guess?!?). I know I won’t get taxed twice if I fill out the correct forms, but I’m just not sure if I can stay on uk PAYE if I’m a perm resident of Aus?

Is it easier if I set up as my own (freelance) business in Aus? Would they need to pay me in dollars or could I invoice them in £s, they pay into my uk bank and I transfer every so often to my oz bank? I’ve already got an oz bank account and money exchange account set up.

Sorry for being thick!

Lucy

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think you can be set up as self employed in Aus and invoice them. Invoice in £ and have it paid into a UK account and then transfer it over using a forex would be the most straightforward way to go about it I'd think. Of course the rate will vary a little each time but you can transfer when the rate is looking good that week say. Also you'd probably need to set a contractors rate which may be different than what you are on  now? 

Afaik this is doable. Hopefully someone else can confirm.

Hi LJV,

So, if I understand you correctly, you will be moving to and living in Australia and working remotely for your UK company (online, phone etc), paid as a PAYE worker (tax deducted and paid to HMRS).