You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Surbello

For unskilled work: Adelaide, Perth or Canberra?

Hello everyone, my name is Andreas and this next november-december I am going to travel to Australia. My problem is I do not know where to go. 

I studied something related with construction and my experience in that area in my opinion is medium. Where I do not have experience is in english language. I have to say that will be a big problem for me at the beginning but I am sure I will solve it quickly because I love english. 

I am under 30 years old, I like big cities but does not necessary have to be Sydney or Melbourne, I think small city (1M people) can be better to find a room and know the differences little by little between my country and your country. I looked for information about Perth, Adelaide and Canberra. At the end, all the information I have found about them is: it is okay but they are not Sydney or Melbourne... xD

During my Visa time I can move around the country as much as I want, so I prefer arrive in a small city, spend there (2,3,6... months) to speak and understand your language better than the first day and then if I have a good feeling move to Sydney (for example). What is your opinion about my idea? During that first stage I assume I will work in unskilled work, but it is okay for me.

Now knowing my profile which of those cities I told you before would you live in?

Thank you for your time, sorry for my write mistakes I thank you for your help.

Andreas

Moneycorp

Moneycorp

Good luck Andreas,  I can't speak for Adelaide or Canberra but Perth is doing it quite tough at the moment with work hard to come to by for nearly all trades.  Many people in Perth are moving or commuting to Sydney and Melbourne.