Please help a confused Primary Teacher

sammy11480

Dear all

I'm so pleased to have found this forum and I really hope someone would be kind enough to help give me some advice. I am very confused with the research I have done so far and am looking for help!

I am a Primary School teacher, 7 years experience. I have a family; a husband and two young children. I have a PGCE and am in the process of getting my skills assessment.

I understand that Primary School teachers are oversubscribed in Oz so I am looking for areas where the best job opportunities will be.

As far as I understand the areas where primary teacher are listed on the skills list are: Victoria ( but I don't have a language skill), and SA. I'm not sure if it is still on the list for the NT.

I am most interested in SA where I am looking at the 489 Visa which would give me 80 points. As this is classed as high points I think I am eligible to apply for this visa with Primary teacher only being on the supplementary list.

Please does anyone have any experience of the 489 to SA? Are there any Primary teachers out there who are making/ have recently made the move to OZ? What Visa did you get? Were you able to get employment before you made the move? How difficult was it to get a job when you arrived?

Any advice is greatly, greatly appreciated. All the best everyone.

Sent from my iPhone using PomsinOz

Primary teachers are on the list for SA still? If so I don't get why apart from they probably needing to fill the rural remote posts that very few want, not even many of the locals. 

I just wrote a post in reply to someone else on another thread. The links I provide are for SA. The index is 1-7 and there is a PDF that explains how its worked out and why.